MonTango - the friendliest tango school in Montreal

The Friendliest Tango School in Montreal for 10 years!

Course Descriptions

MonTango Course Descriptions

Tango 1 (beginner 1)

Intro to the principles and basic techniques of Argentine tango. Walking, embrace and musicality plus: basic steps and positions, ochos and parada (stop).

Tango 2 (beginner 2)

Principles and basic techniques II. Walking, embrace and musicality plus: giros (turns), paradas (stops) and decorations.

Tango 3 (beginner-intermediate)

Perfecting, improvising and embellishing. Variations in the walk (parallel and cross systems), ochos, giros and barridas (sweeps).

Tango 4 (intermediate 1)

Introduction to close embrace. Technique, musicality and figures including milonguero-style ochos and giros and the calesita.

Tango 5 (intermediate 2)

Mastering the close embrace. Technique, musicality and movements including ocho cortado, giros, alterations, ornaments and new combinations.

Tango 6 (inter-advanced)

Introduction to advanced movements. An introduction to such moves as sacadas, barridas and boleos.

Milonga 1: New rhythms and steps

(prerequisite: Tango 3)

An introduction to the steps and musicality of milonga.

Milonga 2

(prerequisite: Milonga 1 or equivalent)

A deeper exploration of the steps and musicality of milonga lisa (smooth) and an introduction to milonga traspie (double-time).

Vals 1: New rhythms and steps

(prerequisite: Tango 3)

An introduction to the musicality and energy of tango-waltz, using known figures as well as new ones especially well-suited to this musical style.

Vals 2

(prerequisite: Vals 1 or Tango 6)

A deeper exploration of the musicality and energy of tango-waltz, with a focus on interesting new, intricate sequences with specific rhythmic patterns.

Choreographic workshops

Build a number for presentation. In this course, participants will learn and perfect a synchronized group choreography. You will learn new and interesting sequences while working on musical precision and the particularities of tango for performance. The process of working instensively on a choreography, perfecting and synchronizing precise and sometimes complex movements and sequences gives a huge boost to participants' skills and technique. Please note that regular attendance is required for this course.
In fall 2018 we will launch two new choreography courses:

Choreographic workshop for tangueras. Join this women's choreography class with Andrea. The number we will build will be previewed during Tanguerafest in March and then performed in our show Una Historia de Tango on April 26 and 27, 2019.
•Tuesdays: Nov. 6-April 23 (break from Dec. 25 to Jan. 15), 6:30-8 p.m.
•Saturdays: Jan. 26; Feb. 23; March 23; April 6 and 20, 2 p.m.
•$380 per person, payable in 1, 2 or 4 instalments
Inter-advanced level; leading experience a plus. Partners not required.

Choreographic workshop for couples. With Andrea et Wolf. The number we build will be presented in the show Una Historia de Tango on April 26 and 27, 2019.
•Tuesdays, 8-9:30 p.m., Jan. 22 to April 23.
•Saturdays: Jan. 26; Feb. 23; March 23; April 6 and 20, 2 p.m.
•$355 per person, payable in 1 or 2 instalments
Advanced level: prerequisite Tango 6 or at least two years of regular classes and practice. Partners required.

Themed classes

Every session we offer themed courses for students who have completed some or all of their basic levels (Tango 1-6). As well as learning increasingly complex movements and sequences, you will work on musicality, posture, changes of embrace, mastering your axis and other high-level concepts.

End-of-fall mini-session 2018:

WOMEN'S TECHNIQUE: An intensive 5-week session with Andrea and Corinne. Exercises to improve your strength, flexibility, stability and elegance; solidifying your basics (walk, ochos, turns, etc.) and adornos. All levels; options will be given for tangueras of different levels. Wear comfortable clothes in which you can move and stretch freely. We will work barefoot, in socks and, of course, in tango shoes.
•Weeks 1 & 2: with Andrea
•Weeks 3 & 4: with Corinne
•Week 5 (3-6 p.m.): a special activity with Andrea and Corinne: Adornos! Two hours of intensive work on the what, when and how of tanguera embellishments, followed by an hour of wine, cheese and chat.
Saturday 3-5 p.m.; Nov. 3-Dec. 1 ($140/session or $35/class)

TRADITIONAL MOVES FOR THE DANCE FLOOR: Inter-advanced (Tango 4 or +). Come discover some of the best-known and most popular moves in Buenos Aires. This mini-session is open to dancers having completed at least a year of classes and practice. With Jean-Sébastien and guest teacher Magali Suarez from Buenos Aires.
Wednesdays 7-8:30, Nov. 21-Dec. 12

CONNECTIONS: All levels. Improve all aspects of your tango dancing through this exploration of the 5 essential connections: our partner, ourselves, the floor, the music and the other dancers. We will work on all of this using simple, useful sequences, fun exercises and technique training. With Andrea and Wolf.
Thursdays 7-8:30, Nov. 22-Dec. 13

DANCE THE MUSIC LIKE A PRO! Inter-advanced (Tango 5 and +). A good connection with the music is one of the qualities that will make you stand out on the dance floor. Using a different style of music every week, we will share our best tricks, techniques and sequences for learning to play with the music to the max. With Andrea and Wolf.
Thursdays 8:30-10 p.m., Nov. 22-Dec. 13

YOGA FOR TANGO

with Andrea Shepherd

A yoga class that underlines the benefits of the different poses and exercises for tango … and for everyday life. You will improve your strength, flexibility, posture and balance. No experience in either yoga or tango is required. The use of props (blocks, blankets and straps) makes the postures available to everyone. Bring your mat if you have one. (We have a few to lend.)

To return in spring 2019

Friday Práctica and Milonga

Fridays 8 p.m.-1 a.m.

We kick off our weekly Friday soirée with a one-hour supervised practice and a mini-lesson for everyone at 8:30 p.m., to get everyone on the dance floor with a little something new.

The Sunday open class

Sundays from 1 to 2 p.m.

A one-hour inter-advanced drop-in class precedes the Sunday afternoon milonga. The level is intermediate-advanced, and we suggest you have a minimum of one year of regular classes and practice before coming to this class. Themes change monthly and are announced in advance in our monthly newsletter and on our Facebook page.

Private lessons

One-hour private lessons available for individuals or couples.

Struggling with your moves, stability or lead/follow skills? Frustrated with the pace of group classes? Private classes are the best way to improve your dancing, while working at your own rhythm. You can take private lessons with or without a partner, and they may be taken in place of or as a supplement to group classes. You can also use privates to build a choreography for presentation. Package deals available.

MonTango - the friendliest tango school in Montreal

L’école de tango la plus chaleureuse en ville depuis 10 ans!

Course Descriptions

Descriptions des cours à MonTango

Tango 1 (débutant 1)

Intro aux principes et techniques de base du tango argentin. Marcher, les pas et positions de base, ochos et paradas (arrêts).

Tango 2 (débutant 2)

Principes et techniques de base II. Marcher, giros (tours), paradas (arrêts), options rythmiques.

Tango 3 (Débutant-intermédiaire)

Perfectionner, improviser, embellir. Marches, ochos, giros, paradas : variantes, technique et musicalité.

Tango 4 (Intermédiaire 1)

Danser dans l’enlacement rapproché. Technique et figures, incluant les ochos et giros style milonguero, et l'ocho cortado...

Tango 5 (Intermédiaire 2)

Approfondissement de l’enlacement rapproché. Technique, musicalité et mouvements : calesita, giros, altérations, ornements et nouvelles combinaisons.

Tango 6 (Inter-Avancé)

Introduction aux mouvements avancés : sacadas, barridas et boleos.

Milonga 1: nouveaux rythmes et pas

(préalable : Tango 3)

Une introduction aux pas et à la musicalité de la milonga.

Milonga 2

(préalable : Milonga 1 ou équivalent)

Une exploration plus approfondie des pas et de la musicalité de la milonga lisa (lisse) et une introduction à la milonga traspie (double temps).

Vals 1: nouveaux rythmes et pas

(préalable : Tango 3)

Une introduction à la musicalité et l’énergie de la valse-tango, en utilisant des figures connues ainsi que de nouvelles figures particulièrement bien adaptées à ce style musical.

Vals 2

(préalable : Vals 1 ou Tango 6)

Une exploration plus profonde de la musicalité et de l'énergie de la valse-tango, soulignant des nouvelles séquences avec une musicalité spécifique.

Ateliers chorégraphiques

Construire un numéro pour présentation. Les participants apprendront et perfectionneront une chorégraphie de groupe synchronisée. Vous allez apprendre des nouvelles séquences intéressantes tout en travaillant la précision musicale et les particularités du tango pour prestation publique. Le processus de travailler intensivement sur une chorégraphie en perfectionnant et synchronisant des mouvements et des séquences précises et parfois complexes augmente énormément la technique et les habiletés des participants. Notez qu'une présence régulière est obligatoire.
En automne 2018 nous commençons deux nouvelles chorégraphies :

Atelier chorégraphique pour tangueras. Joignez-vous à cet atelier chorégraphique pour femmes, avec Andrea. Le numéro qu'on constuira sera présenté en avant-première pendant Tanguerafest au mois de mars 2019 et ensuite au spectacle Una Historia de Tango les 26 et 27 avril 2019. 
•Mardis : 6 novembre-23 avril (relâche du 25 décembre au 15 janvier), 18h30-20h;
•Samedis : 26 janvier; 23 février; 23 mars; 6 et 20 avril, 14h
•380$ par personne, payable en 1, 2 ou 4 versements
Niveau inter-avancé; expérience de guide un atout. Partenaires non requis.

Atelier chorégraphique pour couples. Avec Andrea et Wolf. Le numéro qu'on constuira sera présenté au spectacle Una Historia de Tango les 26 et 27 avril 2019. 
•Mardis : 22 janvier -23 avril (relâche du 25 décembre au 15 janvier), 20h-22h;
•Samedis : 26 janvier; 23 février; 23 mars; 6 et 20 avril, 14h
•355$ par personne, payable en ou 2 versements
Niveau avancé: préalable Tango 6 ou au moins deux ans de cours et de pratique régulière. Partenaires requis.

Cours thématiques

Chaque session nous offrons des cours thématiques pour les gens qui ont complété leurs niveaux de base. Vous apprendrez des mouvements et des séquences de plus en plus complexes tout en travaillant la musicalité, les changements d’enlacement et la maîtrise de l’axe ainsi que d’autres concepts de niveau élevé.

Automne 2018 :

CONCEPTS AVANCÉS – Mouvements fantaisie dans les tours, avec Andrea et Jean-Sébastien. Préalable Tango 6 ou équivalent. Amenez vos tours à un autre niveau en ajoutant d’autres mouvements pour créer de nouvelles combinaisons – quelques unes de flyées et d’autres pour des espaces réduits. Lundi 20h30, 10 septembre-5 novembre.

Mini-session fin d'automne 2018 :

TECHNIQUE POUR FEMMES : Une session intensive de 5 semaines avec Andrea et Corinne. Exercices pour travailler votre force, souplesse, stabilité et élégance; renforcement de la technique de base (marche, ochos, giros, etc.) et adornos. Tous niveaux; des options seront données pour les tangueras de différents niveaux. Portez des vêtements confortables dans lesquels vous pouvez bouger et vous étirer librement. On fera du travail pieds nus ainsi qu’avec bas et, bien sûr, souliers de danse.
•Semaines 1 & 2 : avec Andrea
•Semaines 3 & 4 : avec Corinne
•Semaine 5 (15h-18h) : activité spéciale avec Andrea et Corinne
Adornos! Deux heures de travail intensive sur le quoi, quand et comment des dentelles de la tanguera, suivi d’une heure de vins, fromages et conversation.
Samedi 15h-17h; 3 novembre-1er décembre (140 $/session ou 35 $/classe)

MOUVEMEMTS TRADITIONNELS POUR LA PISTE : Inter-avancé (Tango 4 ou +). Venez découvrir certains des mouvements les plus célèbres et les plus populaires à Buenos Aires. Cette mini-session est ouverte aux danseurs et danseuses ayant un minimum d’un an de cours et pratique. Avec Jean-Sébastien et prof invitée Magali Suarez de Buenos Aires.
Mercredi 19h-20h30, 21 novembre-12 décembre

CONNEXIONS : Tous niveaux. Améliorez tous les aspects de votre tango en explorant les 5 connexions principales : notre partenaire; nous-mêmes; le plancher; la musique et les autres danseurs. On travaillera tout cela à travers des séquences simples et utiles, des exercices amusants et de l’entraînement technique. Avec Andrea et Wolf.
Jeudi 19h-20h30, 22 novembre-13 décembre

DANSER LA MUSIQUE COMME LES PROS! Inter-avancé (Tango 5 ou +). Une bonne connexion avec la musique est une des qualités qui vous fera ressortir sur la piste. En utilisant un style de musique différent chaque semaine, on partagera nos meilleurs trucs, techniques et séquences pour apprendre à jouer avec la musique au maximum. Avec Andrea et Wolf.
Jeudi 20h30-22h, 22 novembre-13 décembre

YOGA POUR LE TANGO

avec Andrea Shepherd

Un cours de yoga soulignant les bénéfices des différentes postures et exercises pour le tango … et pour la vie de tous les jours. Vous allez travailler votre force, flexibilité, posture et équilibre. Aucune expérience en yoga ni en tango n'est requise. L'utilisation d'accessoires (blocs, couvertures et sangles) rend les postures accessibles pour tous. Apportez votre tapis si vous en avez. (Nous en avons quelques uns à prêter.)

De retour au printemps 2019

Vendredi : "Connexion Tango"

VENDREDI 20h-1h

Notre soirée décontractée du vendredi soir commence avec une pratique et une mini-leçon pour tous pour briser la glace et embarquer tout le monde sur la piste.

Dimanche : La classe ouverte

DIMANCHE 13h-14h

Un cours ouvert d'une heure précède la milonga du dimanche après-midi. Le niveau est inter-avancé et on suggère au moins un an de cours et de pratique pour assister à la classe. Les thèmes changent à chaque mois et sont annoncés à l'avance dans notre bulletin mensuel ainsi que sur notre page Facebook.

Leçons privées

Leçons d’une heure offertes individuellement ou en couple.

De la difficulté avec vos mouvements, votre stabilité ou votre connexion? Frustré par la vitesse des cours de groupe? Des cours privés sont la meilleure façon d'améliorer votre tango, en travaillant à votre propre rythme. Vous pouvez prendre des leçons privées avec ou sans partenaire, au lieu de ou en plus des cours de groupe. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser ces leçons pour construire une chorégraphie pour présentation. Forfaits disponibles.