MonTango - the friendliest tango school in Montreal

The Friendliest Tango School in Montreal for 10 years!

Guest Tango Instructors

Hebe Hernández and Leandro Haeder

Hebe+Leandro

Hebe Hernández and Leandro Haeder will be at MonTango from July 26 to Aug. 11, performing and teaching several workshops during their stay.

Friday, July 26:
8 p.m.
Open class: Walking sequences - simultaneous and alternating
9 p.m. Milonga with demonstrations by Hebe and Leandro
-Class + milonga: $20 members; $25 guests
-Milonga only: $12 members; $15 guests

Saturday, July 27-Aug. 10:
12-2 p.m.
Choreographic workshop. Work as a couple and in a group to create choreographic elements. It is not necessary to do very complicated things to create an effect with your movements. We will discover how to add volume to our movements as well as how to find the musical punch and specific angle that will add a totally different effect.
$125 for the 6-hour session

Sunday, July 28, Aug. 4 and 11:
1 p.m.
Open class. July 28: ​​Tango; Aug. 4 and 11: Vals.
2 p.m. Café Domingo, the Sunday afternoon milonga
-Class + milonga: $18 members; $23 guests
-Milonga only: $10 members; $12 guests

Monday, July 29 and Aug. 5:
6:30-8 p.m.
Technique for women: The fundamentals in order to take ownership of your dancing and improvise a dialogue in which you can also propose.
-$35/class or $60/both

8-9:30 p.m. Technique for men: It is necessary that the couple's basics be strong for the dance to develop. Thus, the individual work of the leader will allow greater freedom of creation.
-$35/class or $60/both

Hebe and Leandro are also available for private lessons. Contact us at info@montango.ca.

The dancers:
HEBE HERNANDEZ
is a graduate of the Colón Theatre's Classical Dance School and the Jorge Donn National School of Dance. She honed her skills through such disciplines as contemporary dance, lyrical jazz, Spanish and Argentine folklore. She joined the ballet companies Ballet Estable del Teatro Colón; the Neoclasico Ballet of Bs. As.; the Municipal Ballet of Avellaneda and several independent companies. In 2010, she began her tango studies with renowned teachers. She has worked in some of the best tango shows in Buenos Aires: Tortoni Café, Tango Sabor, Taconeando, Tango Gala, La Ventana, Tango Madero, Complejo Tango, Esquina Carlos Gardel and several milongas from Argentina, Brazil, Tokyo and Montreal. She has been a three-time finalist at the World Tango Championship. She joined the companies Tango Street, Amor Tango Company, Tango, Adorado Tango and Compañia de Leonardo Cuello. She is currently part of: German Cornejo's Dance Company, which performs in London and Taiwan with the show Tango After Dark and in the television show La Hora del Tango; the company Estampas Porteñas, performing in Lima-Peru with the show Margot; the TANGOASIS show, created and directed by Sol Cerquidez and Fernando Gracia. Last year she performed in milongas and theatres in Montreal with Hernán Gaston Lazart and the Drummondville Symphony Orchestra.

LEANDRO HAEDER began his tango studies at age 20, with such great references as: Gabriel and Viviana Bordon; Daniel Juárez and Alejandra Armenti; Silvio The via; Géraldine Rojas and Ezequiel Paludi; Jesus Velázquez and Jorge Torres, among others. He joined the Tango troops in Adelante, Bien de tango, Corporación Tangos and Compañía de Tango Sur, among others. He has performed in a large number of milongas in Buenos Aires, including Salon Canning, La Viruta, Cachirulo, Gricel, La Nacional, Yira Yira ... as well as in different milongas from Japan, Australia, Indonesia, Thailand, Vietnam and Canada. His role as a teacher and dancer has spread to a large part of the world tango community.

Join the Facebook event to find out more

Sandra Naccache and Jorge López

Guest teachers Sandra Naccache and Jorge López split their time between Montreal, Buenos Aires and international tours. Since 2017, they teach regularly at MonTango during their stays in Montreal.

Montango is proud to host these two high-calibre dancers. Sandra and Jorge perform and teach around the world in milongas, festivals and special events. They have worked in several dance companies and have appeared in movies and on TV as guest teachers and choreographers. Sandra and Jorge are known in Montreal for the quality of their dancing and teaching. The couple, charismatic, unique and efficient, have a wealth of knowledge and experience and take great joy and pride in sharing their passion.

Sandra and Jorge describe their teaching method as follows:
"Our mission is delivering to our students the authentic essence of tango. A complete dancer must develop strong body mechanics and awareness, coordination, technique and core strength in order to feel free to move and find harmony in the couple. With technique comes artistry and from a comprehensive understanding of movement, students can create. To help achieve that, we offer organized structured lesson plans, detailed analysis and breakdown of each pattern and movement, which allows our students to feel instant results, from beginners to advanced."

Sandra and Jorge were most recently at MonTango in spring/early summer 2019 and will return in the fall.

Veronica Toumanova

Veronica

Veronica has been dancing tango since 2000 and actively teaching and performing since 2007. She lives in Paris and is one of the founders and teachers of Tango Mon Amour. She teaches in Paris and travels regularly to others cities of France, as well as elsewhere in Western and Eastern Europe, Russia and Canada. Veronica has Russian origins, but started dancing tango while living in The Netherlands. Her experience in modern dance and classical ballet allowed her to build a solid technique, further enriched by her experience with various bodywork techniques. She has worked with different partners, performing and teaching in France, Sweden, Norway, UK, Italy, The Netherlands, Cyprus, Greece, Germany, Czech Republic, Russia, Ukraine, Belarus, Canada and the USA. Veronica is an elegant dancer with a strong personality and a refined sense of music. In her teaching she emphasizes musicality, connection in the couple and the quality of movement. She is also a popular tango blogger, often invited to give conferences about the topics she touches upon in her writing. Her essays on tango are translated into 18 languages and shared by tango people all over the world.

Veronica first came to Montreal – and to MonTango – in the spring of 2017. She returned in March 2019 as the featured guest dancer at Tanguerafest.

Veronica's website: www.verotango.com

Find her essays at: www.verotango.com/p/essays.html

A collection of nineteen essays is available in a book called ​WHY TANGO, which can be purchased on Amazon.

Veronica's performance videos: www.verotango.com/p/performing.html

 

Pamela Ramos Aracena and Theddy Lizama

Pamela Ramos Aracena and Theddy Lizama, from Chile, have each been dancing for 14 years, having begun their training separately.

Pamela, metropolitan champion in both stage and salón tango in 2011, began doing European tours in 2010, dancing in festivals in Lyon, Lille, Montpellier and Paris, France; in San Remo, Venice, Rome and Genoa in Italy and Kehl and Strasburg, Germany.

Theddy was both Latin American tango champion and metropolitan champion in salón tango in 2010. In 2006 he joined the "Proyectango" company, with whom he performed in the best theatres in Chile.

Pamela and Theddy have been dancing together since 2013, fusing the salón, milonguero and escenario styles. Together the couple spent six months teaching at the Contratango school in Bari, Italy, and they also worked in France and Yugoslavia. In 2013 they organized the "Campeonato Nacional de Milonga" in Chile. In 2016 they were invited to Montreal to participate in the Montreal International Tango Festival. They returned the following year for the show "Te Amo Tango" at Place des Arts and to participate once more in the festival. Their stay in North America also took them to New York and Pittsburgh.

MonTango invited Pamela and Theddy to teach some classes in fall 2017 and, seeing the couple's impressive talent and generosity as teachers, welcomed them back for more classes and performances in 2018.

Juliana Maggioli

Juliana Maggioli

From Brazil, Juliana considers Buenos Aires her second home after having studied tango there for 10 years, with both contemporary and old-school "maestros."

She has participated in many festivals in Argentina and Brazil in recent years, and she recently toured Europe and Asia, working with such partners as Maximiliano Cristiani and Pablo Rodriguez.

A few years ago, Juliana worked with Enrique de Fazio, one of the Hermanos Macana, at the IXth Congreso de Cultura Latina in Brazil. Known for her ornaments and a specialist in women's technique workshops, Juliana has recently delved into show tango, though she still believes the milonga is where the real tango lives.

Juliana is organizer of the Mucho Tango Milonga in São Paulo, Brazil.

Juliana was so popular as our guest dancer at Tanguerafest 2016 that we invited her back in 2017 and 2018.

Watch her dance here:
https://youtu.be/jVaGHiB44Vo
https://youtu.be/s4gMSDpwftM

MonTango - the friendliest tango school in Montreal

L’école de tango la plus chaleureuse en ville depuis 10 ans!

Professeurs invités

Hebe Hernández et Leandro Haeder

Hebe+Leandro

Hebe Hernández et Leandro Haeder seront à MonTango du 26 juillet au 11 août. Ils feront des démonstrations et enseigneront plusieurs ateliers pendant leur séjour.

Vendredi 26 juillet:
20h. Classe ouverte: Séquences dans la marche – simultanées et alternées
21h. Milonga avec démonstrations par Hebe et Leandro
-Classe + milonga: $20 membres; $25 invités
-Milonga seulement: $12 membres; $15 invités

Samedi 27 juillet-10 août:
12h-14h.
Atelier chorégraphique. Travaillons en couple et en groupe pour créer des éléments chorégraphiques. Il n’est pas nécessaire de faire des choses très compliquées pour obtenir un effet dans les mouvements. On découvrira comment donner du volume aux mouvements ainsi que comment trouver le coup musical et le bon angle d'un mouvement peut y donner un aspect totalement différent.
125$ pour la session de 6 heures

Dimanche 28 juillet, 4 et 11 août:
13h.
Classe ouverte. 28 juillet: Tango; 4 et 11 août: Vals.
14h. Café Domingo, la milonga du dimanche après-midi
-Classe + milonga: $18 membres; $23 invités
-Milonga seulement: $10 membres; $12 invités

Lundi 29 juillet et 5 août:
18h30-20h.
Technique pour femmes: Les fondements pour sentir l'appropriation de votre danse et improviser un dialogue dans lequel vous pouvez également proposer.
-35$/classe ou 60$/les deux

20h-21h30. Technique pour hommes: Il est nécessaire que les bases du couple soient fortes pour que la danse se développe. Ainsi, le travail individuel du guideur permet une plus grande liberté de création.
-35$/classe ou 60$/les deux

Hebe et Leandro sont également disponibles pour les leçons privées. Contactez-nous par Messenger ou à info@montango.ca.

Les danseurs:
HEBE HERNANDEZ est diplômée de l'école de danse classique du théâtre Colón et de l'école nationale de danse Jorge Donn. Elle a perfectionné ses compétences et à appris d'autres disciplines telles que la danse contemporaine, le jazz lyrique, l'espagnol et le folklore argentin. Elle a rejoint les compagnies de ballet le Ballet Estable del Teatro Colón; le Ballet Neoclasico de Bs. As., Ballet Municipal de Avellaneda et plusieurs compagnies indépendantes. En 2010, elle a commencé ses études de tango avec des professeurs renommés. Elle a travaillé dans certains des meilleurs spectacles de tango à Buenos Aires: Café Tortoni, Sabor a Tango, Taconeando, Gala Tango, La Ventana, Madero Tango, Complejo Tango, Esquina Carlos Gardel et dans plusieurs milongas d'Argentine, du Brésil, de Tokyo et de Montréal. Elle a été trois fois finaliste au championnat du monde de tango. Elle a rejoint les compagnies Tango Street, Amor Tango Company, Bien de Tango, Adorado Tango et Compañia de Leonardo Cuello. Elle fait actuellement partie de: German Cornejo's Dance Company qui se produit à Londres et à Taiwan avec le spectacle Tango After Dark et dans l'émission de télévision La Hora del Tango; la compagnie Estampas Porteñas, se produisant à Lima-Pérou avec le spectacle Margot; le Spectacle TANGOASIS créé et dirigé par Sol Cerquidez et Fernando Gracia. Elle a fait des prestations dans des milongas et en théâtre à Montréal avec Hernan Gaston Lazart et l'Orchestre Symphonique de Drummondville.

LEANDRO HAEDER a commencé ses études de tango à l'âge de 20 ans, entre de grandes références telles que: Gabriel et Viviana Bordon; Daniel Juárez et Alejandra Armenti; Silvio La via; Géraldine Rojas et Ezequiel Paludi; Jesus Velázquez et Jorge Torres entre autres. Il a intégré les troupes Tango en Adelante, Bien de tango, Corporación Tangos et Compañía de Tango Sur, entre autres. Il a dansé dans un grand nombre de milongas de Buenos Aires, incluant Salon Canning, La Viruta, Cachirulo, Gricel, La Nacional, Yira Yira … ainsi que dans différentes milongas du Japon, de l'Australie, de l'Indonésie, de la Thaïlande, du Vietnam et du Canada. Son rôle d'enseignant et de danseur s'est répandu dans une grande partie de la communauté World Tanguera.

Joignez-vous à l'événement Facebook pour en savoir plus

Sandra Naccache et Jorge López

Professeurs invités Sandra Naccache et Jorge López partagent leur temps entre Montréal, Buenos Aires et des tournées internationales. Depuis 2017, ils enseignent régulièrement à MonTango pendant leurs séjours à Montréal.

MonTango est fier de recevoir ces danseurs de haut calibre. Sandra et Jorge dansent et enseignent à travers le monde dans des milongas, des festivals et d'autres événements spéciaux. Ils ont travaillé pour de nombreuses compagnies et ont apparu à la télévision et au cinéma en tant que danseurs et chorégraphes.

Sandra et Jorge sont connues à Montréal pour la qualité de leur danse et de leur enseignement. Le couple est charismatique, unique et efficace. Ils ont une mine de connaissance et sont fiers et heureux de partager leur passion.

Voici comment Sandra et Jorge décrivent leur méthode d'enseignement :
« Notre mission est de transmettre la pure essence du tango. Un danseur complet doit développer une forte méchanique physique et anatomique, une conscience corporelle, de la coordination, de la technique et de la force pour pouvoir se sentir libre de bouger et pour rencontrer l’harmonie dans le couple. Avec la technique se développe l’artiste et avec une compréhension du mouvement, l’élève se sentira libre pour créer. Pour aider à la réussite de tout cela, nous offrons des plans de cours structurés et des analyses de chaque mouvement, permettant aux élèves de ressentir des résultats rapides. »

Sandra et Jorge retourneront en automne 2019.

Veronica Toumanova

Veronica

Veronica danse le tango depuis 2000 et danse professionnellement et enseigne activement depuis 2007. Elle vit à Paris et est l’une des fondatrices et enseignantes de Tango Mon Amour. Elle enseigne à Paris et se rend régulièrement dans d'autres villes de France, ainsi que dans d'autres pays d'Europe occidentale et orientale, en Russie et au Canada. Veronica a des origines russes, mais a commencé à danser le tango en vivant aux Pays-Bas. Son expérience de la danse moderne et du ballet classique lui a permis de construire une technique solide, enrichie par son expérience avec diverses techniques de travail corporel. Elle a travaillé avec différents partenaires, enseignant et donnant des prestations en France, en Suède, en Norvège, au Royaume-Uni, en Italie, aux Pays-Bas, à Chypre, en Grèce, en Allemagne, en République tchèque, en Russie, en Ukraine, en Biélorussie, au Canada et aux États-Unis. Veronica est une danseuse élégante avec une forte personnalité et un sens raffiné de la musique. Dans son enseignement, elle met l'accent sur la musicalité, la connexion dans le couple et la qualité du mouvement. Elle est également une blogueuse de tango populaire, souvent invitée à donner des conférences sur les sujets qu’elle aborde dans ses articles. Ses essais sur le tango sont traduits en 18 langues et partagés par des danseurs de tango du monde entier.

Veronica est arrivée pour la première fois à Montréal – et à MonTango – au printemps 2017. Elle est ensuite revenu en 2019 en tant que danseuse invitée au Tanguerafest.

Site Web de Veronica : www.verotango.com
Retrouvez ses essais au : www.verotango.com/p/essays.html
Une collection de dix-neuf essais est disponible dans un livre intitulé WHY TANGO, qui peut être acheté sur Amazon.
Voir des vidéos de Veronica : www.verotango.com/p/performing.html

Pamela Ramos Aracena et Theddy Lizama

Pamela Ramos Aracena et Theddy Lizama, danseurs chiliens, dansent depuis 14 ans, chacun ayant commencé son développement de son côté.

Pamela, bi-championne métropolitaine de tango salón et de scène en 2011, réalise des tournées européennes depuis 2010. Elle a dansé dans des festivals à Lyon, Lille, Montpellier et Paris en France, à San Remo, Venise, Rome et Genova en Italie et à Kehl et Strasbourg en Allemagne.

Theddy était champion latino-américain de tango ainsi que champion métropolitain de tango salón en 2010. À partir de 2006 il faisait parti de la compagnie "Proyectango," avec lequel il dansait dans les meilleurs théâtres au Chili.

Les deux dansent ensemble depuis 2013, faisant une fusion des styles salón, milonguero et escenario. Ensemble le couple a travaillé dans l'école Contratango en Bari, Italie, pendant 6 mois et ils ont également travaillé en France et en Yougoslavie. En 2013 ils ont organisé le "Campeonato Nacional de Milonga" au Chili. En 2016 ils ont été invités à Montréal pour participer au Festival International de Tango de Montréal. Ils sont retournés à Montréal l'année suivante pour le spectacle "Te Amo Tango" à Place des Arts et pour participer à nouveau au FITM. Leur séjour en Amérique du Nord les a amenés à travailler à New York et Pittsburgh.

MonTango a invité Pamela et Theddy à donner quelques classes en automne 2017 et, voyant le talent et la générosité du couple, les a reçu à nouveau pour donner des prestations et des classes en hiver 2018.

Juliana Maggioli

Juliana Maggioli

D'origine brésilienne, Juliana se sent autant chez elle à Buenos Aires, où elle a étudié le tango pendant 10 ans, avec des maestros contemporains et traditionnels. Elle participe à de nombreux festivals en Argentine et au Brésil depuis plusieurs années, et récemment elle a fait une tournée en Europe et en Asie où elle a travaillé avec Maximiliano Cristiani et Pablo Rodriguez. Il y a deux ans Juliana a fait un projet avec Enrique de Fazio, un des frères Macana, au IXe Congreso de Cultura Latina au Brésil. Connue pour ses ornements et spécialiste en ateliers de technique pour femmes, elle a récemment commencé à explorer le tango de scène, même si elle croit que la milonga est la place où habite le vrai tango. Juliana est organisatrice de Mucho Tango Milonga à São Paulo, Brésil.

Juliana était notre invitée pour Tanguerafest en 2016, 2017 et 2018.

Vous pouvez la voir danser ici:
https://youtu.be/jVaGHiB44Vo
https://youtu.be/s4gMSDpwftM